Judges and Staff

Work with nationally- acclaimed professionals








Announcing the 2019 Season Judges!

First, Second and Final Round Judges:


Dr.Dan Kurland, Korrepetitor Staatstheater Hagen

Dr. Phillip Hill, University of Texas at El Paso

Dr. Minkyung Lee, Northwest Vista Community College, San Antonio

Nathan DePoint  Austin Opera

Dr.Tamara Sanikidze, Butler Opera Center

Dr.Robert Desimone, Butler Opera Center

Prof. Darlene Wiley, Butler Opera Center

Stefan Sanders, Conductor, Central Texas Philharmonic, Fayetteville Symphony Orchestra, Spartenburg Philharmonic





Mary Ellen Poole

Director, Butler School of Music

Stefan Sanders 

Conductor, Central Texas Philharmonic

Darlene Wiley
Executive Director, BOI 

Robert DeSimone
Former Director, Butler Opera Center


Tamara Sanikidze

Music Director, BOI
Director of Butler Opera Center & Principle Opera Coach, Butler Opera Center

Associate Professor of Practice, Butler Opera Center

 Page Stephens

Assistant Director of Operations, Butler School of Music

Andy Stoltz

Recording Services Manager, Butler School of Music

Jenny Catchings

Communications Coordinator, Butler School of Music

Minkyung Lee

Assistant Professor, Northwest Vista College

CJ Johnson

Performance Librarian, Performance Library

Nathan Russell

Marketing Designer, Butler School of Music